November 20, 2002 --- Vol. 8, No. 121November 2002

Murkowski team names Renkes as attorney general, Clark as chief of staff and Frasca as budget director

Alaska governor elect, U.S. Sen. Frank Murkowski named Greg Renkes as his attorney general, Jim Clark as chief of staff, and Municipality of Anchorage Budget Director Cheryl Frasca as director of the Office of Management and Budget, at a press conference today in Anchorage.

Murkowski then named members of his transition advisory teams, six to 25 persons per department of state government, and regional advisory teams charged with organizing and reporting back on a series of public advisory meetings to be held in communities across the state.

Harry Noah, former commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources under the Hickel administration was appointed to head the transition team for DNR, and Ernesta Ballard, former administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency was named the head the team for the Department of Environmental Conservation.

The DNR team includes Steve Borell, executive director of the Alaska Miners Association; Judy Brady, executive director of the Alaska Oil and Gas Association and former commissioner of DNR; Jim Carter, former economic development director of the Department of Community and Economic Development; Mike Dalton; Jackie DuRette, former president of Alaska Women in timber; Becky Gay, former executive director of the Resource Development Council; Richard Glenn, vice president of lands for Arctic Slope Regional Corp.; Owen Graham, executive director of the Alaska Forest Association; Mike Heatwole, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.; Larry Houle, executive director of the Alaska Support Industry Alliance; Tom Irwin, president of the Alaska Council of Producers; Wilma Leslie; Joe Marushack, vice president, ConocoPhillips Alaska Inc.; Tad Owens, executive director of the Resource Development Council; Larry Semmens, director of finance for the city of Kenai; John Shively, former commissioner of DNR; Rick Solie; Ken Thompson, former ARCO Alaska Inc. president, and co-chairman of the Governor's Alaska Highway Natural Gas Policy Council; Jim Weeks, president and CEO of Winstar Petroleum LLC; and Orie Williams, president and CEO of Doyon Ltd.

Among The 22-person DEC team are Gary Carlson, senior vice president for Alaska of Forest Oil Corp.; Marilyn Crockett, deputy director of AOGA; Joe Hegna, director of regional affairs for ConocoPhillips; Mark Schindler, president of Lynx Enterprises; and Bob Stinson, president of Conam Corp.

Petroleum News - Phone: 1-907 522-9469 - Fax: 1-907 522-9583
[email protected] ---